How Do I Get My Texas Real Estate Sales Agent License?
Step 1: Meet the minimum Requirements
Step 2: Completion of Texas approved 180 hour pre-license education courses
Step 3: Find a sponsoring broker
Step 4: Apply for your exam and license
Step 5: Schedule your exam and Fingerprinting
Step 6: Take and Pass Your Licensing Exam
Step 7: Maintain Your License with Continuing Education
Meet the minimum Requirements
Prior to applying to take your real estate salesperson licensing exam, you must meet the following requirements.
- You must be 18 years of age or older.
- Be a US citizen, or lawful resident alien.
- Highschool Diploma or its equivalent
- Completion of Texas approved 180hour pre-license education course:
- Principles of Real Estate I (30 classroom hours)
- Principles of Real Estate II (30 classroom hours)
- Law of Agency (30 classroom hours)
- Law of Contracts (30 classroom hours)
- Promulgated Contract Forms (30 classroom hours)
- Real Estate Finance (30 classroom hours)
Completion of Texas approved 180 hour pre-license education courses
If you have yet to complete the required pre-licensing courses, check out ProTraining’s course catalog and take the first step to getting your real estate salesperson license nowGet Started Now
Find a sponsoring broker
To obtain your license, you will first need to find a broker to sponsor you. Selecting the right broker is very important as it could mean the difference for you becoming an extremely successful real estate salesperson, versus an unsuccessful one. So take your time, do your due diligence, and select the broker with the best fit.
Schedule your exam and Fingerprinting
Once you receive your approval letter from TREC, you can schedule your exam with Pearson Vue.
You will also receive direction on how to submit your fingerprints for review. You have one year from the date your application is filed to pass the examination.
Take and Pass Your Licensing Exam
To obtain your license you must take and pass the Texas Real Estate Licensing exam.
The examination consists of 125 multiple choice questions. Candidates are given a total of 4 hours to complete the examination.
Additional details on the exam, including what to bring, content covered, policies, etc, can be found here.
Maintain Your License with Continuing Education
To renew and/or maintain your insurance license, you will be required to complete a minimum number of continuing education (CE) credits.
In Texas, you are required to complete 18 hours of approved Continuing Education (CE) courses:
- 8 hours of TREC Legal Update I and II; and
- 10 hours of elective CE
Check out ProTraining’s course catalog for available continuing education (CE) courses.Renew Your Real Estate License
ProTraining is happy to provide licensing information for candidates looking to obtain their real estate license. While reasonable efforts will be made to ensure this information is up to date and accurate, we recommend that licensees ensure they are compliant with all requirements mandated by the Texas Real Estate Commission.